Letter to Agnes McLehose, December 6 1787

Thursday even:
Madam,
I had set no small store by my tea-drinking tonight, and have not often been so disappointed.

- Saturday evening I shall embrace the opportunity with the greatest pleasure.

- I leave this town this day se’ennight, and probably for a couple of twelvemonth but must ever regret that I so lately gott an acquaintance I shall ever highly esteem, and in whose welfare I shall ever be warmly interested.

- Our worthy common friend, Miss Nimmo, in her usual pleasant way, rallied me a good deal on my new acquaintance, and in the humor of her ideas I wrote some lines which I inclose you, as I think they have a good deal of poetic merit; and Miss N– tells me, you are not only a Critic but a Poetess.

- Fiction, you know, is the native region of Poetry; and I hope you will pardon my vanity in sending you the bagatelle as a tolerable off-hand jeux d’esprit.

- I have several poetic trifles which I shall gladly leave with Miss N- or you, if they were worth houseroom; as there are scarcely two people on earth by whom it would mortify me more to be forgotten, tho, at the distance of nine-score miles.

- I am, Madam, with the highest respect, your very humble servant Robt Burns

Published in: on December 6, 2008 at 11:59 am  Comments (2)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://burnsletters.wordpress.com/2008/12/06/letter-to-agnes-mclehose-december-6-1787/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. [...] off in December, we had the first of his letters written to Agnes McLehose, the Nancy of “Ae Fond Kiss“, which turns on an engagement to drink tea. By the end of [...]

  2. [...] off in December, we had the first of his letters written to Agnes McLehose, the Nancy of “Ae Fond Kiss“, which turns on an engagement to drink tea. By the end of [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

