Letter to James Candlish, March 21 1787

My ever dear old acquaintance,
I was equally surprised and pleased at your letter, tho’ I dare say you will think by my delaying so long to write you, that I am so drowned in the intoxication of good fortune as to be indifferent to old and once dear connections.

– The truth is, I was determined to write a good letter, full of argument, amplification, erudition and, as Bayes says, all that.

– I thought of it, and thought of it, but for my soul I cannot; and lest you should mistake the cause of my silence, I just sit down to tell you so.

– Don’t give yourself credit though, that the strength of your logic scares me: the truth is, I never mean to meet you on that ground at all.

– You have shown me one thing, which was to be demonstrated, that strong pride of reasoning, with a little affectation of singularity, may mislead the best of hearts.

– I likewise, since you and I were first acquainted, in the pride of old women’s stories, ventured in “the daring path Spinosa trod;” but experience of the weakness, not the strength, of human powers made me glad to grasp at revealed Religion.
I must stop, but don’t impute my brevity to a wrong cause.

– I am still, in. the apostle Paul’s phrase, “The old man with his deeds” as when we were sporting about the Lady thorn.

– I shall be four weeks here yet, at least; and so I shall expect to hear from you-welcome sense, welcome Nonsense.

– I am with the warmest sincerity,

My Dear old Friend, yours Robt Burns

Published in: on March 21, 2008 at 11:33 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://burnsletters.wordpress.com/2008/03/21/letter-to-james-candlish-march-21-1787/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

