Letter to James Candlish, late November 1787

My dear friend,
If once I were gone from this scene of hurry and dissipation, I promise myself the pleasure of that correspondence being renewed which has been so long broken. At present I have time for nothing. Dissipation and business engross every moment.

– I am engaged in assisting an honest Scots Enthusiast, a friend of mine, who is an Engraver, and has taken it into his head to published a collection of all our songs set to music, of which the words and music are done by Scotsmen.

-This, you will easily guess, is an undertaking exactly to my taste.-I have collected, begg’d, borrow’d and stolen all the songs could meet with.

– Pompey’s Ghost, words and music, I beg from you immediately, to go into his second number: the first is already published.

– I shall show you the first Number when I see you in Glasgow, which will be in a fortnight or less.

– Do be so kind as send me the song in a day or two; you cannot imagine how much it will please me.

I am ever, My Dear Sir, Yours Robt Burns

Published in: on November 27, 2008 at 11:31 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://burnsletters.wordpress.com/2008/11/27/letter-to-william-cruikshank-late-november-1787/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

