Letter to Agnes McLehose, December 12 1787

I stretch a point indeed, my dearest Madam, when I answer your card on the rack of my present agony.

– Your friendship, Madam! by Heavens, I was never proud before.

– Your lines, I maintain it, are Poetry; and good Poetry; mine, were indeed partly fiction, and partly a friendship which had I been so blest as to have met with you in time, might have led me – God of love only knows where.

– Time is too short for ceremonies-I swear solemnly (in all the tenor of my former oath) to remember you in all the pride and warmth of friendship until-I cease to be!

– Tomorrow, and every day till I see you, you shall hear from me. Farewell! May you enjoy a better night’s repose than I am likely to have.
Robt Burns

Published in: on December 12, 2008 at 12:13 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://burnsletters.wordpress.com/2008/12/12/letter-to-agnes-mclehose-december-12-1787/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

