Letter to Margaret Chalmers December 12 1787

I am here under the care of a surgeon, with a bruised limb extended on a cushion; and the tints of my mind vying with the livid horror preceding a midnight thunder-storm. A drunken coachman was the cause of the first, and incomparably the lightest evil; misfortune, bodily constitution, hell and myself, have formed a “Quadruple Alliance” to guarantee the other. I got my fall on Saturday, and am getting slowly better.

I have taken tooth and nail to the bible, and am got through the five books of Moses, and half way in Joshua. It is really a glorious book. I sent for my book-binder to-day, and ordered him to get me an octavo bible in sheets, the best paper and print in town; and bind it with all the elegance of his craft.

I would give my best song to my worst enemy, I mean the merit of making It, to have you and Charlotte by me. You are angelic creatures, and would pour oil and wine into my wounded spirit.
I inclose you a proof copy of the “Banks of the Devon,” which present with my best wishes to Charlotte. The “Ochel-hills,” you shall probably have next week for yourself. None of your fine speeches!

Published in: on December 12, 2008 at 11:24 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://burnsletters.wordpress.com/2008/12/12/letter-to-margaret-chalmers-december-12-1787/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

