Letters to Margaret Chalmers, December 19 1787

Edinburgh 19th December 1787

I begin this letter in answer to yours of the 17th current, which is not yet cold since I read it. The atmosphere of my soul is vastly clearer than when I wrote you last. For the first time, yesterday I crossed the room on crutches.

It would do your heart good to see my bardship, not on my poetic, but on my oaken stilts; throwing my best leg With an air and with as much hilarity in my gait and countenance, as a May frog leaping across the newly harrowed ridge, enjoying the fragrance of the refreshed earth after the long-expected shower!

I can’t say I am altogether at my ease when I see any where in my path, that meagre, squalid, famine-faced spectre, poverty; attended as he always is, by iron-fisted oppression, and leering contempt; but I have sturdily withstood his buffetings many a hard-labored day already, and still my motto is-I DARE!

My worst enemy is Moimeme. I lie so miserably open to the inroads and incursions of a mischievous, light-armed, well-mounted banditti, under the banners of imagination, whim, caprice, and passion; and the heavy armed veteran regulars of wisdom, prudence and fore-thought, move so very, very slow, that I am almost in a state of perpetual warfare, and alas! frequent defeat.

There are just two creatures that I would envy, a horse in his wild state traversing the forests of Asia, or an oyster on some of the desart shores of Europe. The one has not a wish without enjoyment, the other has neither wish nor fear.

Published in: on December 19, 2008 at 11:38 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://burnsletters.wordpress.com/2008/12/19/letters-to-margaret-chalmers-december-19-1787/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

