Letter to Agnes McLehose, January 3 1788

My dear Clarinda, Your verses, my dearest Madam, have so delighted me that I have copied them in among some of my own most valued pieces, which I keep sacred for my own use.-Do, let me have a few now and then.-

Did you, Madam, know what I feel when you talk of your sorrows! Good God! that one who has so much worth in the sight of Heaven, and is so amiable to her fellow-creatures should be so unhappy! I can’t venture out for cold.-My limb is vastly better, but I have not any use of it without my crutches.-Monday, for the first time, I dine at a neighbour’s next door: as soon as I can go so far, even in a coach, my first visit shall be to you.-Write me when you leave town and immediately when you return, and I earnestly pray your stay may be short.

-You can’t imagine how miserable you made me when you hinted to me not to write. Farewell.

Sylvander

Published in: on January 3, 2009 at 12:59 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://burnsletters.wordpress.com/2009/01/03/letter-to-agnes-mclehose-january-3-1788/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. This is a great idea, Craig. Glad that you thought of it.


Leave a Reply

