Letter to Agnes McLehose, January 12 1788

( 12th January 1788 )
You talk of weeping Clarinda; some involuntary drops wet your tines as I read them.-Offend me, my dearest Angel! you cannot offend me: you never offended me! If you had ever given me the least shadow of offence; so pardon me, my God, as I forgive Clarinda-I have read yours again: it has blotted my paper.-Tho’ I find your letter has agitated me into a violent headache, I shall take a chair and be with you about eight.

-A friend is to be with us at tea on my account, which hinders me from coming sooner.-Forgive, my dearest Clarinda, my unguarded expressions.-For Heaven’s sake forgive me, or I shall never be able to bear my own mind!-
Your unhappy Sylvander

Published in: on January 12, 2009 at 9:24 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://burnsletters.wordpress.com/2009/01/12/second-letter-to-agnes-mclehose-january-12-1788/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

